ALA Governance

Headquartered in Chicago, the ALA is governed by an elected , which is its policy-making body, and an , which acts for the Council in the administration of established policies and programs. In this context, the Executive Board is the body that manages the affairs of the Association, delegating management of the Association’s day-to-day operation to the . The ALA also has 37 standing committees, designated as committees of the Association or of the Council. The Association’s operations are directed by the executive director and implemented by  through a structure of programmatic  and support units.

The ALA is home to 8 membership divisions, each focused on a type of library or library function, and 19  for members who share interests that lie outside the scope of any of the divisions. A network of ,, and  enables the ALA to reach a broad audience.

See also the .